Tackling mental health challenges focus of new University System of GA task force


Atlanta, GA (WJBF)- Tackling mental health challenges at Georgia colleges takes priority for the University System of Georgia.

The USG Chancellor, Steve Wrigley, appointed a Mental Health Task Force to take a deeper look into mental health challenges and struggles on college campuses statewide.  The group will be co-chaired by Albany State University President, Marion Fedrick and Valdosta State University President Richard Carvajal with representatives from other state universities, state agencies, mental health organizations and the medical field.

Chancellor Wrigley said in a news release, “In a recent survey by the American Council on Education, 80% of the 1,700 college and university presidents participating said mental health is now a greater priority on campus than it was just three years ago.” 

The members of the task force have been assigned to understand the scope of the issues and to review programs, policies and best practices within the University System of Georgia as well as campuses around the country.  Below is the member list of the task force, including Augusta University’s Dr. Robert Dollinger, M.D., Director of Student Health Services at AU.

  • Richard Carvajal, Ph.D., president, Valdosta State University
  • Marion Fedrick, president, Albany State University
  • Sinet Adous, international affairs major, vice president of external affairs, Student Government Association, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Jacqueline Caskey-James, LPC, director, Student Counseling and Outreach Services, Fort Valley State University
  • Quadre Curry-Wilkerson, visual and performing arts major, president, Student Government Association, Albany State University
  • Robert Dollinger, M.D., director, Student Health Services, Augusta University
  • Shanta Dube, Ph.D., associate professor, School of Public Health, Georgia State University
  • Tomas Jimenez, senior associate provost for student affairs and dean of students; Georgia Gwinnett College
  • Teresa Johnston, LPC, executive director and assistant dean, Center for Young Addiction and Recovery, Kennesaw State University
  • Linda Kasper, executive director, University Housing, University of Georgia
  • Autumn A. Lucas, certified nurse practitioner, Middle Georgia State University Health Clinic
  • Dante McKay, J.D., director, Office of Children, Young Adults and Family; Division of Behavioral Health
  • Linda Osborne-Smith, deputy commissioner, Technical College System of Georgia
  • Chip Reese, Ed.D., associate vice president, Student Affairs, Columbus State University

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories