Georgia News

Georgia Hands-Free Law taking effect July 1st, how to stay out of trouble

ATLANTA (WJBF) - The hands free driving bill goes into effect July 1st. 

But what's truth and what's not about that bill? I rode along with the Georgia State Patrol to spot a few law breakers and find out how to keep you out of trouble and tickets.

"The one thing you're not going to be able to dispute is 'did you have your phone in your hand?' Yes you did," says SFC Stephanie Stallings with Georgia State Patrol.

That's all it takes to get a ticket as soon as Sunday right after midnight.

"(For one driver) we heard the airhorn three times," says SFC Stallings. "Shows you how off the road his mind was."

There is no grace period with the law. The law goes into effect July 1st.

"You're going to see a lot of compassion and empathy from GSP."

Other misconceptions:  What about rocking out to your favorite music while you roll down the road?  Be sure it's set to the right songs.

"Using internet-based radio is going to be absolutely fine. But if it comes up on a song you absolutely despise...you're gonna have to suffer through it," says SFC Stallings.

And if you do use hands free to call you get one touch to turn it on and on to turn it off.

You CAN technically text and drive.

"You can text in a voice to text app. Now with my southern accent, it usually jumbles it, so I don't use that."

Good luck with that.

And a warning that even if you still have a not-so-smart flip phone, you have to wise up.

"If you're holding it to your ear, you're violating the law."

And good common sense.

The first penalty is $50 and 1 point on your license. The second violation is $100 and 2 points on your license. And the third is $150 and 3 points on your license. 

Penalties can be steeper if you cause an accident while using your phone.


More Stories

Weird News

Don't Miss

Latest CSRA News

Video Center