Faculty honored at MCG Faculty Senate event

Faculty honored at MCG Faculty Senate event (Image 1)_28660

 Dr. Walter J. Moore, Professor in the Department of Medicine and Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education and VA Affairs at the Medical College of Georgia at Georgia Regents University, is the medical college’s 2015 Outstanding Faculty Award recipient.

A graduate of Georgetown University School of Medicine with a 27-year career in the U.S. Army before coming to the state’s public medical school, Moore is Chairman of MCG’s Graduate Medical Education Committee and Internal Residency Review Committee.

Moore was honored during the 2015 MCG Faculty Awards Ceremony.

In nominating Moore, Dr. Michael Madaio, Chairman of the MCG Department of Medicine, lauded Moore as an enthusiastic and committed leader, educator, physician, and mentor. “His commitment to MCG and GRU over the past 14 years encompasses outstanding contributions in education and clinical care,” Madaio wrote. “As importantly, he has been an institutional leader in education and service, and our medical students, trainees, and faculty have repeatedly recognized his personal and professional efforts in support of education, research, and clinical care.” 

Moore is a member of the Executive Committee of the Georgia Regents Medical Associates Board of Trustees and has served on the medical school’s Admissions Committee since 2010. He has been recognized as one of America’s Top Doctors for the past 11 years by Castle Connolly Medical Ltd., placing him in the top 1 percent of physicians in the nation.  Moore was selected as an inaugural member of the Academy of Medical Educators in 2008 and continues as a member of the GRU’s Academy of Health Sciences Educators.

He served as Chief of the MCG Section of Rheumatology from 2000-13. Moore is a Master in the American College of Physicians and was recently elected Governor of the ACP’s Georgia Chapter.

Dr. Christopher Bradford White, Professor Emeritus in the Department of Pediatrics, received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

White is a 1978 graduate of the University of Virginia School of Medicine and had a 20-year career in the U.S. Army before coming to MCG. At MCG, he served as Director of Pediatric Student Education for nearly a decade, Co-Director of Community Faculty Development, and served for eight years as MCG’s first Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Educational Achievement. He helped establish the GRU Academy of Health Sciences Educators. His interests in medical education include technology, clinical bedside teaching, feedback, evaluation, clinical reasoning and faculty development.  He continues to practice general pediatrics and pediatric infectious diseases at Children’s Hospital of Georgia. 

Other distinguished Faculty Awards went to:

·    Dr. Paul L. McNeil, Professor, Department of Cellular Biology and Anatomy, Basic Science Teaching
·    Dr. Alyce M. Oliver, Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, Clinical Science Teaching
·    Dr.  Neal L. Weintraub, Professor, Department of Medicine, Kupperman Eminent Scholar in Cardiovascular Medicine, Basic Science Research
·    Dr. Vincent J.B. Robinson, Professor, Department of Medicine, Clinical Science Research
·    Dr. Loretta s. Davis, Professor and Chief, Section of Dermatology, Department of Medicine, Patient Care Award
·    Dr. Chitra Subra Mani, Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Patient Care Award.
·    Dr. James V. Rawson, P.L., J. Luther, Ada Warren Endowed Chair and Chairman of the Department of Radiology and Imaging, Institutional Service Award
·    Dr. Quanguang Zhang, Assistant Professor, Department of Neuroscience and Regenerative Medicine, Outstanding Young Basic Science Faculty Award
·    Dr. Brian J. Miller, Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Health Behavior, Outstanding Young Clinical Science Faculty Award.

The Department of Pediatrics received the Outstanding Clinical Science Teaching Award from the senior class, and the Department of Pathology received the Outstanding Basic Science Teaching Award from the Class of 2017.

Dr. George L. Rainsford, Clinical Professor, Department of Family Medicine, and Site Coordinator for the family medicine clerkship site at Edgefield Medical Clinic in Edgefield, South Carolina, received the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories