DAYTON, Ohio (WDTN) – The Dayton Police Department held its annual awards ceremony Thursday at the Ray and Joan Kroc Community Center.

There ceremony, emceed by WDTN’s own Mark Allan, recognized Dayton officers, non-sworn personnel, and citizens who have shown exceptional bravery, dedication to duty, and commitment to the community.

The Award of Merit, the Distinguished Service Award, Officer of the Year, and the Steve Whalen Memorial Policing Award were a few of the honors bestowed during the event.

Grab the FREE WDTN News App for iPhone or Android. Stay up to date with all the local news, weather and sports as well as live newscasts and events as they happen.


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for all the latest news, weather and sports.