SOUTH CAROLINA (WJBF) - If you started your car and left it running to warm up during this cold weather in South Carolina, you could be breaking the law.
It is illegal in the Palmetto State to leave a running car unattended even if it's just sitting at your house.
The law is designed to prevent auto-theft.
It's also aimed at protecting children or vulnerable adults, who could get into a running car and put it in drive putting them in danger.
Officials say the fines can vary from $100 to $500.
- Teacher says she was fired for giving students zeroes
- Rescued sacrificial rooster terrorizes neighborhood
- Ohio man calls police after pig won't stop following him
- Sheriff: Man helped give goat whiskey, cocaine
- VIDEO: Two guys try ‘tall man' trick to get into Black Panther
- Nearly a dozen day care workers say parent's cookies made them high
- Simple sketch helps police identify theft suspect