Republicans win runoffs for 2 Georgia state House seats

AP Top News

FILE – In this July 19, 2016 file photo, the shadow of delegates are seen on the convention floor during the second day of the Republican National Convention in Cleveland. The Republican National Committee is sharply restricting attendance on three of the four nights of its convention in Jacksonville, Florida, next month as coronavirus cases are spiking in the state. (AP Photo/John Locher)

ATLANTA (AP) — Final unofficial results show two Republicans have won seats in the Georgia House in special election runoffs held Tuesday. No candidates won majorities in an earlier round of voting on June 15.

Toombs County Republican Party Chairman Leesa Hagan of Lyons beat auto dealer Wally Sapp of Baxley in House District 156.

For all your latest breaking news and local headlines sign up for our daily NEWSLETTER

The district covers all of Montgomery and Toombs counties and parts of Appling and Jefferson Davis counties in southeast Georgia.

Republican ambulance company executive Devan Seabaugh of Marietta defeated Democratic artist and educator Priscilla Smith of Kennesaw in House District 34.

It includes parts of Kennesaw and Marietta in Cobb County. Despite a Republican lean, both parties showed interest in the Cobb election as a rehearsal for 2022

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories