President Obama Signs South Carolina Disaster Declaration - WJBF-TV ABC 6 Augusta-Aiken

President Obama Signs South Carolina Disaster Declaration

Posted: Updated:
Washington, D.C. -

From The White House:

Wednesday, President Obama declared a major disaster in the State of South Carolina and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by a severe winter storm during the period of February 10th-14th.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storm in the following counties:

  • Aiken
  • Allendale
  • Bamberg
  • Barnwell
  • Berkeley
  • Calhoun
  • Chesterfield
  • Clarendon
  • Colleton
  • Dillon
  • Dorchester
  • Edgefield
  • Florence
  • Georgetown
  • Hampton
  • Horry
  • Marion
  • Orangeburg
  • Saluda
  • Sumter
  • Williamsburg

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

W. Craig Fugate, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Joe M. Girot as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

From The South Carolina Emergency Division (SCEMD):

In response to Governor Nikki Haley's request, President Barrack Obama has declared a major disaster area for parts of South Carolina.

Federal disaster aid is now available for 21 counties in South Carolina which were most severely affected by the February 10-14 winter storm.  The FEMA Public Assistance program helps reimburse local and state governments and non-profit organizations and co-ops for certain expenses they incurred. Because the ice storm damage was not significant and widespread on uninsured homes or businesses, the citizens are not eligible for federal assistance in this instance.

On March 4th, Governor Haley formally requested a disaster declaration from the White House for Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Berkeley, Calhoun, Chesterfield, Clarendon, Colleton, Dillon, Dorchester, Edgefield, Florence, Georgetown, Hampton, Horry, Marion, Orangeburg, Saluda, Sumter, and Williamsburg counties.  Her request followed an assessment of damages by representatives of the South Carolina Emergency Management Division, the Federal Emergency Management Agency, affected electric co-ops, and local and municipal governments.

Under the Public Assistance Program, state and affected local governments are eligible to apply for federal funding to pay 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency services related to the storm, and the repair or replacement of damaged public utilities. The division of the remaining 25 percent will be determined later.  More information about this program can be found here.

The declaration also makes cost-shared funding available to the state for approved projects that reduce – or mitigate -- future disaster risks.  Funds under this program will be available to state agencies, local governments, and certain non-profit organizations only. A wide variety of potential projects is eligible.

The S.C. Emergency Management Division will explain procedures for requesting assistance at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly in the affected areas.

Powered by WorldNow

1336 Augusta West Parkway
Augusta, GA 30909

Telephone: 706.722.6664

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.