Pacer Baseball Team Wins First Game in Tournament - WJBF-TV ABC 6 Augusta-Aiken

Pacer Baseball Team Wins First Game in Tournament

Posted: Updated:
AIKEN, S.C. – The No. 2/8 University of South Carolina Aiken baseball team defeated Shepherd, 9-7, on Friday afternoon at Roberto Hernandez Stadium.

The Pacers broke a 7-all tie in the bottom of the eighth inning to secure the two-run victory. Shortstop Sean Miller tripled to center field to lead off the inning gollowed by Kody Belcher taking one for the team to put two runners on with no outs. Tyler Moore was next up and singled through the left side of the infield to score miller and break the tie. Belcher later scored on an error to put the Pacers ahead for good

USC Aiken (3-1) was leading, 7-3, heading into the top of the seventh inning before Shepherd posted four runs on a two-RBI single and a pair of other runs.

The Pacer offense led by first baseman Ty Barkell and third baseman TJ Costen who each went two-for-five at the plate with a pair of RBI. Barkell hit a solo home run to left center field in the bottom of the first inning to open the scoring.

Ryan Metzler had three hits and scored a run and Belcher and Miller each collected two hits as well.

On the mound for USC Aiken, Nick Yobbi excelled in the first start going six innings and surrender only four hits and three earned runs, but got a no decision. Jake Padgett (1-0) earned the win for the Pacers by shutting out Shepherd (0-1) by pitching one-and-a-third innings of scoreless.

Caleb Smith came in and shut the door earning his first save of the season while striking out two Rams in an inning of work.

Shepherd’s R. Pansch (0-1) took the loss for the Rams by giving up the final two Pacer runs.  Two Rams recorded multiple hits offensively.

The Pacers return to action at 3 p.m., when they host No. 1 Tampa in the fourth game of the Prestige Appliance Classic.
Powered by WorldNow

1336 Augusta West Parkway
Augusta, GA 30909

Telephone: 706.722.6664

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.