Unoaked Doesn't Mean Gluten-Free - WJBF-TV ABC 6 Augusta-Aiken

Unoaked Doesn't Mean Gluten-Free

Posted: Updated:
Augusta, GA -

Sally Benjamin, Co-Owner of Wine World says, "Un-oaked wine is wine that has not been treated to oak either in the fermentation process or in the aging process after fermentation."

Benjamin says most wines fermented in oaked barrels have a much more complex flavor.

"The taste that oak imparts to wine is sort of a toasty, spicy something, a creaminess, especially in white wines, creaminess even, occasionally almost sort of buttery," said Benjamin.

Even though un-oaked wines have been around for hundreds of years one local wine manager says they have become more popular lately.

Danielle Pledger, Manager of Harvard's Wine and Beverage says, "It's grown more popular within the last five years. People are wanting more of the crisp fruity flavors as opposed to the oaky, woody flavors."

If you are looking for more of a fruity wine as Masters week approaches Benjamin recommends a few brands.

Benjamin says, "There are a thousand, try some of the California Chardonnays that are un-oaked like naked Chardonnay, like Chamasal, stainless steel Chardonnay."

But if you're looking for a gluten-free option, unoaked wine may not be your best bet.

Doctor Gena Bonitatibus from Augusta Allergy and Asthma says,  "If there is not an allergen warning, you really have to call the manufacturer and ask about wheat and whether they seal their barrels with wheat flour."

If you have a wheat allergy and are looking for a gluten-free wine on the market look for one called "Big House."

Powered by WorldNow

1336 Augusta West Parkway
Augusta, GA 30909

Telephone: 706.722.6664
Email: talkback6@wjbf.com

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.